Beet Cake

The Beets, remember them? Probably not, actually, because I am likely one of the few high school aged bloggers in this realm of the blogosphere – solitary member of the Doug generation. Doug, star of the animated show, had a favorite band called The Beets (a joke on The Beatles). As I made this beet cake, inspired by this post on In Her Chuck’s blog and an abundance of fresh beets, I could not get this song by The Beets out of my head.

Here is the recipe I used to make the cake, borrowed from Food.com.

  • 4 eggs
  • 2 cups sugar
  • 1 cup vegetable oil
  • 2 cups flour
  • 2 teaspoons baking powder
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons baking soda
  • 1 teaspoon cinnamon
  • 2 teaspoons vanilla
  • 3 cups shredded fresh beets (grating them works fine)
  • 1 cup chopped walnuts

Directions:

  1. Heat oven to 350 °, grease and flour 13×9 baking pan.
  2. Beat eggs, sugar and oil until light and fluffy.
  3. Sift together flour, baking powder, baking soda and cinnamon.
  4. Add to egg mixture and mix well.
  5. Add vanilla, beets and walnuts.
  6. Beat for 1 minute on medium speed.
  7. Pour into pan, bake for 45 minutes, or until a pick comes out clean.

It was a very simple recipe, although grating the beets was rather time consuming. I just powdered the top with confectioner’s sugar, but cream cheese frosting is also popular.

If you are willing to go the extra mile, I would go with a more complex recipe. This one certainly gets the job done – the cake was easy to make and very tastey – but a more elaborate attempt would have a better payoff.

Here’s the weirdest thing about this cake: the batter was pink but the cake was not. Anyone know why? Because I am baffled.

20120510-111920.jpg

20120510-111927.jpg

12 Responses to “Beet Cake”


  1. 1 cara May 10, 2012 at 3:29 pm

    Just so you know… I am a professional chef and more often than not we, or rather I, probably end up referencing Doug once a week or so in the kitchen…just sayin.

  2. 3 linda May 10, 2012 at 11:50 pm

    I’ve always loved beets, but never had beet cake. Thanks for the idea.

  3. 4 inherchucks May 11, 2012 at 6:18 am

    I was surprised by the same thing…vibrant pink batter but brown cake…maybe the color cooks out? Anyways, glad it turned out well…thanks for the link back 🙂

  4. 5 Gauss May 13, 2012 at 12:05 am

    The cake tasted great! Was grating the beets a messy process?

  5. 7 Lauren May 14, 2012 at 6:19 pm

    I have always wanted to try a beet cake — looks awesome! My next batch of beets will get this treatment, I think.

  6. 9 poorgirlorganic May 15, 2012 at 4:20 pm

    wow, this looks awesome! I love the Doug reference too 🙂

  7. 11 Andcookiestoo May 16, 2012 at 6:23 am

    This looks great. I have been hearing so much about beet cake from so many fronts that I am finally going to dive in. I hope mine looks as good as yours!


Leave a Reply

