Why You Want a CSA Membership

Getting a CSA (Community Sponsored Agriculture) membership will be the best thing that ever happened to you. You just have to remember that it’s not a super market. Don’t feel restricted by the large amounts of obscure vegetables you take home each week, instead see them as an excuse for trying innovative recipes!

My family has a CSA membership at Sport Hill Farm in Easton, CT, and we often structure our meals around the produce we get from the farm. It actually makes planning dinner easier, because there’s inspiration at the ready! Our neighbors always fight over who gets our share if we are on vacation. Going to pick up our share on Thursday is the highlight of my week. I love reading the board that lists the different produce I can pick out – how many tomatoes, cucumbers, bunches of swiss chard (depending on the week) I can take – everything picked from the garden only hours ago.

Already have a CSA membership? Share your tips!

These are Tammy McLeod’s tips for joining a CSA from her absolutely spectacular blog: Agrigirl’s Blog. I highly recommend checking them out: Tammy’s Top Ten (t3 report) Tips for belonging to a CSA.

6 Responses to “Why You Want a CSA Membership”


  1. 1 inherchucks April 23, 2012 at 8:47 am

    I have been a CSA subscriber for over a year now and I love everything about it 🙂 I am so passionate about my CSA that I started a link party for bloggers to link up and share their weekly treasures! It’s a wonderful way to celebrate the goodness of all things CSA 🙂

  2. 3 Tammy April 23, 2012 at 2:13 pm

    Thanks for the shout out!!

  3. 4 inherchucks April 23, 2012 at 4:55 pm

    Here is the link to the post that walks you through linking up. http://inherchucks.com/2012/04/19/whats-in-the-box-22/
    Looking forward to having you 🙂

  4. 5 Smedette April 26, 2012 at 7:23 pm

    I’m thrilled with my CSA.

    The pick-up site is just outside of a grocery store, so once I get my share, I give it a quick look and then head into the store for anything else I may need for the week. Take practice, but you can get pretty good with meal planning on the fly.

  5. 6 Lauren April 28, 2012 at 1:53 am

    I LOVE being part of a CSA. It really keeps me creative in the kitchen. I have a few old favorite recipes for the produce we get a lot of, but I try to branch out a bit every once in a while, too. Plus, there is always something new (to me) that I have to break out the cookbooks to find a good way to use. Keeps me on my toes!


Leave a Reply

