Calm Your Kale Anxieties

Kale is a vegetable you’re probably seeing a lot of right now, because it is happy in colder temperatures. Granted, it’s not really that cold in CT right now, but kale can be grown all year round, so your farmer probably has tons of it while you’re waiting for more typical veggies.

Ask anyone with a CSA (Community Sponsored Agriculture) membership, and he or she will probably tell you that there is a lot of kale involved in the deal. So try this crunchy snack – kale chips! 

Here’s how: First cut the kale leaves from the thicker stems and tear the leaves into bite-sized pieces. Then wash the leaves and dry them with a salad spinner. Spread the leaves on a baking sheet lined with parchment paper. Then drizzle them with olive oil and sprinkle some salt on top. Bake at 350 degrees for 10 to 15 minutes and you’ll get truly yummy snack.

If you close your eyes, you can convince yourself you’re eating potato chips. Almost.

20120416-195458.jpg

20120416-195513.jpg

20120416-195525.jpg

3 Responses to “Calm Your Kale Anxieties”


  1. 1 Tammy April 17, 2012 at 2:05 pm

    In our community, kale is the new black. I’m seeing it on menus everywhere and I’m so glad. For too long it was just a garnish.

  2. 2 Alina Badus April 17, 2012 at 6:11 pm

    I love kale, and grow it in my garden, but have never made kale chips. Your post has persuaded me to finally try!

  3. 3 inherchucks April 19, 2012 at 9:28 am

    I am a CSA subscriber and as you mentioned, kale is a popular item this time of year. But I have grown to love it. In fact, I got a bunch in my box today!

    Thanks for sharing this recipe. I have made kale chips before and my husband LOVED them…I look forward to trying them your way…

    If you wish, I would love for you to link up to my CSA link party…check it out! http://inherchucks.com/2012/04/19/whats-in-the-box-22/. Hope to see you there 🙂


Leave a Reply

